PDA

View Full Version : Wishlist Item: Control of Foobar on PC's



DrGerm
June 9th, 2014, 12:44 PM
Some of my wishlist items are already posted, I don't think this has been mentioned yet though:

I have Foobar running on a PC which I then have set up to my home audio system. I'd like to be able to control that PC from a mobile foobar app.

i.e. start, pause, and stop play. Skip, forward, back. Enqueue. Load, create, save, and edit playlists. Control volume. Edit tags. Show what's playing. Show current album art. Show current lyrics.

Thanks!!

nerone
August 17th, 2014, 04:27 PM
DrGem,

I use foobar the same way. Actually there is an app that does this.
Search for MonkeyMote for Foobar. There are two versions of it, Lite and HD. The lite is free but has fewer functions.
For it to work you just have to add the monkeymote component and make sure your firewall doesn't block it's port, also you will need that both devices are in the same network.

Hope this is what you wanted.

Dabombber
September 2nd, 2014, 05:33 AM
I think the best way this could be implemented into the f2k app would be as a upnp controller, used in conjunction with the upnp plugin (http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_upnp). That would also allow it to work with a lot of other software/hardware, for example I can currently control foobar2000 with my pebble (http://getpebble.com/) using PlugPlayer (http://plugplayer.com/). There's a thread requesting upnp support here (http://mobile.foobar2000.com/forum/showthread.php?36-UPnP-DLNA-support-for-network-drives).

MrEnergizer
December 5th, 2014, 10:37 PM
For Androids I can personally vouch for Foobar2000 controller. It runs perfectly and has lots of features. The dev is very good as well he even added some personal requests of mine into an update.

derbo68
January 6th, 2015, 04:28 AM
Very Good^-^

sadhill
January 15th, 2015, 08:16 AM
The actually available remotes (MonkeyMote - even the non free app, which I presently use - and other), although they are very nice for playback and playlists, do not allow, for example, to edit the music tags on the PC foobar2000. Which means that, if you run for example PC foobar2000 on windows 2012 server in core mode as I do, you cannot easily add a newly downloaded or ripped music to the playlists.
So it would be very nice to be able to take over PC foobar2000 through mobile foobar2000, as a remote...

gabe
January 24th, 2015, 11:12 AM
I currently us foobarcon pro to control music playback on my music server/stereo system. It works great! For adding new music to the server I just use ms remote desktop app.

Seymour
January 26th, 2015, 03:09 PM
Addressed to topicstarter:
It's partly achievable via foo_httpcontrol plus any (any?) mobile device's browser.

OhNoItSJoe
January 29th, 2015, 06:55 PM
I got BOTH, foobar2000 controller and FoobarCon, imo, foobarcon is better than foobar2000 controller!

Matt
August 10th, 2016, 11:57 AM
I have Foobar running on a PC which I then have set up to my home audio system. I'd like to be able to control that PC from a mobile foobar app.

i.e. start, pause, and stop play. Skip, forward, back. Enqueue. Load, create, save, and edit playlists. Control volume. Edit tags. Show what's playing. Show current album art. Show current lyrics.

Hello everybody,

I am Matt from Europe and I share DrGerms wish for the same reasons. My phone is a Microsoft 650, so the Android options which were mentioned in the replies cannot be applied in my case. I tried several UPnP-Players or the Foobar2000-copilot which had different "inconveniences". Editing tags is not possible anyway, as far as I could see. The access by browser via foobar2000controller has not worked either.

If I may add another wish: I would consider it really cool if foobar2000 mobile could make several PCs play synchronously.

Thank you very much in advance for considering my wishes - and of course thank you so much for foobar2000 in general!!!

Best regards,
Matt

Jacko
October 30th, 2016, 05:30 AM
Hi everybody,

While I am using Windows Phone, I am also missing apps for controlling my headless Foobar2000 desktop through the network. It would be great if Foobar2000 Mobile would support this feature using upnp. I hope it will be added in the near future!

Kind regards,
Jacko